Opinion | Alan Wirzbicki

Playing it safe with the new BPS superintendent?

Boston, MA - 4/21/19 Boston school superintendent candidate Marie Izquierdo (cq) talks to the media after her interview. She was questioned by the school committee, in the second of four open interviews. Photo by Pat Greenhouse/Globe Staff Topic: 23superintendent Reporters: Meghan Irons

Pat Greenhouse/Globe Staff

Marie Izquierdo should be the front-runner. The fact that she’s not says a lot about the city and Mayor Marty Walsh.

SCOT LEHIGH

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Scot_Lehigh_150px-1083.jpg William Barr’s self-inflicted scars

Some of William Barr’s responses didn’t even pass the laugh test.

Michael A. Cohen

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/cohen%20(1)-1080.jpg Trump ignores Constitution with his subpoena fight

The president cannot pick and choose the laws he chooses to abide by. Democrats must begin impeachment proceedings.

Opinion | Margery Eagan

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/Metro/Images/RinaldiClinton02.jpg Spin tour for the Clintons

What’s the point of their speaking tour? To spin themselves.

Thein Zaw/AP/2018 | Metafora Production via AP

Free Press

Two Reuters reporters and Jamal Khashoggi among ‘10 Most Urgent’ list of press freedom cases

The One Free Press Coalition every month spotlights the “10 Most Urgent” journalists who press freedoms are under threat worldwide.

SCOT LEHIGH

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Scot_Lehigh_150px-1060.jpg Democrats should embrace a carbon tax

It feels as though Democrats are losing sight of the greenest, tallest tree for the broader public-policy forest.

Editorial

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/03/20/BostonGlobe.com/Metro/Images/RinaldiDCFDay102.jpg Thinking big on DCF reforms

Charlie Baker can point to improvements at the Department of Children and Families, but he’s far from achieving systemic reforms.

OPINION | STAN ROSENBERG

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/01KIDweb.jpg Being a foster child is traumatic enough. Let’s stop making it worse

We need to do better by our foster children.

Renée Graham

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/30/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Graham-1057.jpg Black women aren’t here to save America from itself

When black women vote, we are our own saviors. We aren’t maids charged with cleaning up America’s political messes.

Opinion | Michael Stein and Jon Kingsdale

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/04/29/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/ACAFweb.jpg The risks of ‘Medicare for all’

The alternative to the proposal is adequate funding of the Affordable Care Act.

Letters

Letters

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2019/05/01/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Clipboard-1089.jpg Reducing addiction requires tackling workplace injuries

“Reducing the occurrence of painful workplace injuries and illnesses will reduce opioid addiction commensurately.”

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

OPINION

Suffering, compassion, and being a perpetual student

Each of us is a student and everyone else in the world is our teacher, and those who cause us the most difficulty can be our best teachers, toward whom we would be wise to feel gratitude.

EDITORIAL

Has the time (finally) come for liquor licensing reform in Boston?

It's long overdue for the city to establish a more equitable process of handing out liquor licenses. And the pandemic may be the perfect time for reform.

EDITORIAL

Tougher oversight key to protecting state’s elderly

Nursing home deaths that far outpace the national average cry out for real reform from the Baker administration.

OPINION

Like the nation’s founders, Americans say: ‘More immigrants, please’

For the first time in 55 years, the share of Americans who favor more immigration has surpassed the percentage who want immigration reduced.

From Globe Ideas

IDEAS

In case of economic emergency: break glass

Here's how we can put an end to bad bailouts.

IDEAS

How to fix the police

Reforming law enforcement can't just be about preventing excessive policing. It also has to address the problem of under-policing.

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.